Active Lab Members

Orna Elroy-Stein

Orna Elroy-Stein

Principal Investigator
ornaes@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Andera Atzmon

Research Assistant
andreaat@post.tau.ac.il

Melisa Herrero

PhD student
melo_herrero@hotmail.com

Mika Rotem

PhD student
mikarotem@gmail.com

Shir Srour

PhD student
shirsrour@mail.tau.ac.il

Reut Sharet

MSc student
reutsharet@mail.tau.ac.il

Tamar Elman

MSc student
tamar90@gmail.com

Dalia Pinchasi

Lab Technician
daliaP@post.tau.ac.il

former Members

Gali Raini

2010-2016, PhD student
Thesis: “Mitochondrial Dysfunction in Vanishing White Matter Disease”

Today:
Medical student,
TAU Medical School
galirean@post.tau.ac.il

Sarah Hofmann

2013-2016, Post-doc
sarah.hofmann1811@gmail.com

Yulia Kesler

2012-2015, MSc student
Thesis: “Evaluation of Guanabenz derivatives as GADD34 inhibitors”

Today:
QC analyst
CureTECH Ltd.
Rehovot
kesler.yuli@gmail.com

Ranen Aviner

2009-2014, PhD Student
Thesis: “Deciphering the mitotic translatome”

Today:
Postdoc Fellow
Raul Andino Lab, UCSF
Judith Frydman Lab, Stanford
USA
ranen.aviner@gmail.com

Sima Barhoom

2008-2013, Post Doc

Today:
Product manager
Intellisiv Ltd
sima.barhoom@gmail.com

Yuval Cabilly

2008-2013, PhD student
Thesis: “The mouse model for Vanishing White Matter (VWM) disease reveals abnormal development of brain white matter and poor astrocyte inflammatory response”

Today:
General Partner
at Israel Biotech Fund,
yuval@cabilly.com

Liraz Marom

2005-2007, MSc student
Thesis: “3′-Poly(A) tain and poly(A) binding protein (PABP) promote the IRES activity of Crucifier-infecting tobamovirus (CrTMV)”

2007-2012, PhD student
Thesis: “A mouse model for VWM disease reveals function- and time-specific changes in brain gene expression and displayes phenotypic recovery upon inhibition of GADD34”

Today:
Biopharma Lab Team Leader
Teva Phamaceutical Industries
maromliraz@gmail.com

Mali Barbi

2009-2011, MSc student
Thesis: “The inflamatory response of microglia cells of VWM-diseased mice harboring a point mutation in eIF2B5”

Today:
MD student
Sackler Medical School
Tel Aviv University

Shelly Hen-Avivi

2006-2009, MSc student
Thesis: “A search for factors that mediate CrTMV IRES activity”

Today:
PhD student / Department of Plant Sciences
Faculty of Biochemistry
Weizmann Inst. of Science.
Shelly.hen-avivi@weizmann.ac.il

Gilad Sivan

2005-2009, PhD student
Thesis: “Control of mRNA translation during mitosis: Regulation at the Elongation level”

Today:
Postdoc fellow
Bernard Moss Lab
NIAID, NIH, Maryland, USA
gilad.sivan@nih.gov

Michal Geva

2003-2008, PhD student
Thesis: “Generation of a Knock-In mouse model for eIF2B-related leukodystrophy”

Today:
Pharmacology Project Leader
Teva Parmaceutical Industries
michal.geva@teva.co.il

Idan Pereman

2003-2005, MSc student
Thesis: “Characterization of the Poly(A)-binding protein (PABP) during the cell cycle”

Today:
Post-doc / Department of Plant Sciences
Faculty of Biochemistry
Weizmann Institute of Science
Idan.pereman@weizmann.ac.il

Dvir Dahary

2003-2005, MSc student
Thesis: “Natural antisense transcription represents real overlap rather than translcriptional leakage”

Today:
Co-Founder & CEO
Toldot Genetics LTD
www.toldot-dna.com
dvir.dahary@gmail.com

Limor Dinur-Klein

2002-2005, MSc student
Thesis: “Translation initiation factor eIF5B: new aspects regarding activity and stability”

Today:
Clinical Project Manager
MediWound Ltd.
limordinur@gmail.com

Liraz Kantor

2002-2006, PhD student
Thesis: “Effect of eIF2B mutations on cellular stress response – Implications of the neurodegenerative disease CACH/VWM”

Today:
Savion Diagnostics
lirazk@gmail.com

Deborah Silvera

2000-2003, Post Doc

Today:
Research Assistant Professor
NYU School of Medicine,
NYU, NY, USA
silved03@nyumc.org

Nadejda Koloteva-Levine

1998-2002, Post Doc

Today:
Lecturer in Molecular Biology
University of Kent, UK
N.Koloteva-Levin@kent.ac.uk

Gabriel Gerlitz

1996-1998, MSc Student
Thesis: “Post translational modifications of hnRNP-C upon megakaryocytic differentiation”

1998-2002, PhD student
Thesis: “Activation of internal translation initiation – the possible roles of eIF2α and hnRNP-C”

Today:
Senior Lecturer
Department of Molecular
Biology, Faculty of
Natural Sciences
Ariel University
gabi.gerlitz@gmail.com

Maya Amichay

1999-2001, MSc student
Thesis: “Regulation of PDGF2 mRNA stability is mediated by 5’UTR – 3’UTR interactions”

Osnat Sella-Tavor

1993-1995, MSc Student
Thesis: “Identification of RNA-binding proteins that interact with PDGF2/c-sis mRNA leader – Implications for translational modulation during differentiation”

1995-2000, PhD student
Thesis: “Differentiation-induced internal translation of platelet-derived growth factor 2 (PDGF2/c-sis) mRNA: analysis of the cis-elements and trans-acting factors”

Today:
Dr. Osnat Sella-tavor
Biosensing Project Manager
Covidien (Israel) LTD
Osnat.Sella-Tavor@givenimaging.com

Dana Gelbaum

1997-1999, MSc student
Thesis: “Interaction between 5’UTR and 3’UTR affect the translatability and stability of PDGF2 mRNA”

Today:
VP BD and Supply Chain
Chiasma Pharma LTD
dana@chiasmapharma.com

Orlev Levy-Nissenbaum

1996-1998, MSc Student
Thesis: “The translation of ATM mRNA during the cell cycle”

orlevln@gmail.com

Edna Guetta

1995-1997, MSc Student
Thesis: “The role of PDGF2 3’UTR in the regulation of gene expression”

Atalia Shtorch

1993-1995, Post Doc

Today:
Dr. Atalia Shtorch-Asor
Molecular Genetics Laboratory
Meir Medical Center
shtorcha@clalit.org.il

Irit Shefler

1992-1994, MSc Student
Thesis: “Search for key-role elements that participate in translation initiation of mRNAs harboring
PDGF2/c-sis 5’UTR”

Today:
Researcher
Laboratory of Allergy and Clinical Immunology
Meir Medical Center
irit.shefler@clalit.org.il

Einor Reichert
Ben-Assayag

1991-1993, MSc Student
Thesis: “The influence of eIF4E overexpression on in-vivo translational efficiency of mRNAs bearing lengthy and structured leaders”

Today:
Senior Researcher
Head of a study group in Stroke and Dementia
The Neurology Department
Tel-Aviv Medical center
einorba@tlvmc.gov.il